Mon. Aug 27th, 2018

2018 Asian Games, India’s day 5 schedule: Badminton stars start singles crusade, squash commences

India will look to add to the 15 medals won till day four.

Subsequent to frustrating ways out from the group occasions, India’s badminton unforeseen commence their battles in the individual occasions as the eighteenth Asian Games enters day five on Thursday.

With moderately less demanding draws, PV Sindhu and Saina Nehwal are relied upon to lead India’s charge for awards

Squash players get enthusiastically on Thursday too.

Medal events of the day include men’s weightlifting (77kg) where Commonwealth Games champion Satish Sivalingam will be in action. Shooting features two finals as well while rowers are in action in various finals. With Dipa Karmakar missing out on qualification, Pranati Nayak and Aruna Budda Reddy could bring home a surprise medal in the women’s vault final.

The event is being broadcast in India by Sony Network.

Note: All times are in IST, but timings are subject to change. Results will be updated through the day.

Here’s India’s complete day five schedule.


Event Players Time Result
Women's singles R32 PV Sindhu vs Vu Thi Trang After 10.30 am
Women's singles R32 Saina Nehwal vs Soraya Aghaeihajiagha After 10.30 am
Women's doubles R32 Ashwini Ponnappa/Sikki Reddy vs NG Wy/Yeung NT 10.30 am
Women's doubles R32 Rutaparna Panda/Arathi Sunil vs C Chaladchalam/P Muenwong After 10.30 am
Mixed doubles R32 Pranaav Jerry Chopra/Sikki Reddy vs PS Chan/Ly Goh After 10.30 am
Mixed doubles R32 Ashwini Ponnappa/Satwiksairaj vs Puavaranukroh/Taerattanachai After 10.30 am
Men's doubles R32 Satwiksairaj/Chirag Shetty vs Y Chung/ After 10.50 am
Men's doubles R32 Manu Attri/Sumeeth Reddy vs TA Mohamed/MA Rasheed After 10.50 am


Event Players Time Result
Recurve men's individual R16 Viswash vs TBD 9.40 am
Recurve men's individual R16 Atanu Das vs TBD 9.40 am
Recurve women's individual R16 Promila Daimary vs Bishandee Urantungalag 9.40 am
Recurve women's individual R16 Deepika Kumari vs Ri Ji Hyang 9.40 am


Event Teams Time Result
Women's team semi-finals TBD 1.30 pm
Men's team semi-finals TBD 3.30 pm

Artistics Gymnastics

Event Players Time Result
Women's vault final Pranati Nayak, Aruna Budda Reddy 2 pm


Players Time Result
Men's double trap qualification Shardul Vihan, Ankur Mittal 8 am
Women's double trap final Varsha Varman, Shreyasi Singh 8.15 am
Men's double trap final TBD 1 pm


Event Players Time Result
Men's 77kg Satish Kumar Sivalingam
Ajay Singh


Event Players Time Results
Women's singles SF Ankita Raina vs Zhang Shuai 8 am
Mixed doubles QF Rohan Bopanna/Ankita Raina vs CB Rungkat/A Sutjiadi 8 am
Men's doubles SF Rohan Bopanna/Divij Sharan vs K Uesugi/S Shimabukuro 9.30 am
Men's singles QF Prajnesh G vs Kwn Soonwoo 10.30 am


Event Players Time Results
Men's single sculls final A Dattu Bhonakal 7.30 am
Men's doubles sculls final A Om Prakash and Swarn Singh 7.50 am
Women's pairs final B Sanjukta Dung Dung, Harpreet Kaur 7 am
Women's doubles sculls final A Sayali Shelke and Pooja 8.55 am
Men's Pair final A Malkeet Singh and Gurinder Singh 8.10 am
Men's lightweight fours final A Bhopal Singh, Jagvir Singh, Tejas Shinde, Pranay Naukarkar 9.40 am


Event Players Time Result
Men's singles R32 Saurav Ghosal vs Mukhtar Wakeel 8 am
Men's singles R32 Harinder Sandhu vs Ko Youngjo 8 am
Men's singles R16 TBD 2.30 pm
Women's singles R16 Dipika Pallikal vs TBD 5 pm
Women's singles R16 Joshna Chinappa vs TBD 5.45 pm


Event Players Time Result
Women's 5x5 prelims India vs Indonesia 4 pm


Event Players Time Result
Men's 50m butterfly heats Virdhawal Khade, Anshul Kothari, 7 am
Men's 100m freestyle heats Aaron Dsouza, Virdhawal Khade, 7.20 am
Men's 200m backstroke heats Srihari Nataraj, Advait Page 7.40 am
Men's 50m butterfly final TBD 4 pm
Men's 100m freestyle final TBD 4.20 pm
Men's 200m backstroke final TBD 5 pm


Event Players Time Result
Women's pool India vs Kazakhstan 8 am


Players Time Result
Women's - Round 1 (Individual and team) Sifat Sagoo, Ridhima Dilawari, Diksha Dagar 4 am
Men's - Round 1 (Individual and team) Aadil Bedi, Hari Mohan Singh, Rayhan Thomas, Naveed Kshitij Kaul 4:55 am

Canoe / Kayakking

Event Players Time Result
Women's Singles semifinals - Canoe Champa Mourya 7:30 am


Event Players Time Result
Men's team qualification Jaggy Shivdasani, Rajeshwar Tewari, Ajay Khare, Raju Tolani, Debabrata Majumder, Sumit Mukherjee 8.30 am
Mixed team round robin Kiran Nadar, Hema Deora, Himani Khandelwal, Bachiraju Satyanarayana, Gopinath Manna, Rajeev Khandelwal 8.30 am
Supermixed team qualification Bharati Dey, Marianne Karmarkar, Vasanti Shah, Pranab Bardhan, Finton Lewis, Shibhnath Sarkar 8.30 am


Event Players Time Result
Men's Trios Parvez Ahmed Saud, Shoumick Dutta, Kishan Ramachandriah 7.30 am
Men's Trios Shabbir Asgarali, Akaash Ashok, Dhruv Sarda 7.30 am

Sport climbing

Event Players Time Result
Men's speed QF C Maibam, Bharath Pereira 7 am
Men's combined speed qualification C Maibam, Bharath Pereira 7 am
Women's speed QF Shreya Nankar 7 am
Women's combined speed qualification Shreya Nankar 7 am
Men's speed TBD 4 pm
Women's speed 4 pm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *